Built around 1765 to protect the short-lived first capital Georgetown, Fort Granby is the second oldest fort on the island, and the first British fortification. It was named after a British hero of the Seven Year War, and the British held a sizable Post of Arms there. On Sunday 13th April, 1766, a church service was performed for the first time at Fort Granby; officiated by a subaltern officer, it involved the reading of a sermon of Tolloston. The French took over the fort fron 1781 to 1787, during their occupation, after which it was abandoned.
Today, what remains of the fort are the white-benched gazebos that look out onto Barbados and Pinfold Bays on either side of the headland. The grounds have become a labyrinth of interwoven trees forming a canopy that covers most of the fort. A walk through the grounds is punctuated by an eerie silence, which is only broken by the whistling of a bird or two. Further in lies the gravestone of a British soldier,James Clarke, who died on July 6th 1772.
Furbished with modern conveniences, including a playground, it makes cartoon porn for an interesting stop-off point on your way up the Windward coast.